Leadership Institute

New extended deadline! Applications must be received by January 6th, 2017


Applications for the 2017 program are now being accepted!

Applications must be received by January 6th, 2017. Participation is limited. For more information, click here for the application.

The CBA’s Leadership Institute is a program designed to enhance the leadership skills and foster the professional growth of Chicago attorneys. The program will provide emerging leaders within Chicago’s legal community with the practical knowledge and business development strategies necessary to attain and be successful in significant leadership roles.


The Leadership Institute curriculum consists of 9 substantive sessions, plus 8 additional cohort meetings and special events from January through October 2017. Sessions will feature dynamic faculty, interactive skill building exercises and networking opportunities. A complete list of meetings and topics is included on the application. Participants who successfully complete the program will receive a graduation certificate.



Below is the list of confirmed faculty for the 2017 Institute!  More will be added to this exceptional line-up soon.

  • Scott J. Fisher, Managing Partner, Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP
  • Angel Gomez, AG Gomez Consulting, LLC
  • Hon. Sophia H. Hall, Circuit Court of Cook County
  • Ray J. Koenig III, Clark Hill
  • Deb Knupp, Managing Director, Akina
  • Alexis MacDowall, Vice President and General Counsel, Global Litigation, Johnson Controls
  • Hon. Lisa M. Madigan, Attorney General, State of Illinois
  • Christina Martini, Partner, DLA Piper
  • John E. Mitchell, KM Advisors
  • Sheila Nielsen, Nielsen Career Consulting
  • Diana Quinn, The Quinn Company
  • Audrey Rubin, Chief Operating Officer, Global Law Departments, Aon Corporation
  • Jesse H. Ruiz, Partner, Drinker Biddle
  • Richard Shavzin, President, Chicago Litigation Consultants

Congratulations to those who successfully completed

The Chicago Bar Association’s 2016 Leadership Institute Program


Mir Ali

Schiff Hardin LLP

Daniel Hagedorn

Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Elizabeth Lopez

United Airlines


Matthew Carey

Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP

Tim Herman

Clark Hill PLC

Lindsey M. Marcus

Fraczek Radelet P.C.


Irina Dashevsky

Locke Lord LLP

Ashley S. A. Jackson

Sedgwick LLP

Patrick Morales-Doyle

Thompson Colburn LLP


Marissa Downs

Much Shelist, P.C.

Aaron Janik

Mid-America Regional Bargaining Association

Khurram Naik

Polsinelli LLP


Lara Duda

Peter Latz & Associates, LLC

Jason A. Julien

Locke Lord LLP

Joanna Travalini

Winston & Strawn LLP


William Farley

Holland & Knight LLP

Michael Lehrman

Baker & McKenzie LLP

Stewart Weiss

Holland & Knight LLP



Related Files
2017 Leadership Institute Application