Account Number

Moot Court Competition



Dear Moot Court Society:

On behalf of the Moot Court Committee of the Young Lawyers Section of The Chicago Bar Association ("CBA"), it is our pleasure to invite your school to take part in the Annual CBA Moot Court Competition to be held November 10, 11 and 12, 2016.

Participants will have the opportunity to hone their research, writing, and oral advocacy skills along with approximately 30 other teams. A special effort is made to recruit sitting judges from the Chicago area to give contestants a real taste of courtroom practice. The following encompasses some important details of the Competition, which may assist you in your decision to participate:

Registration for the 2016 CBA Moot Court Competition is now full.  If you have already registered a team or teams, please complete and return this form on or before October 14, 2016.


Problem: Each school's faculty representative will receive a copy of the problem and the rules of the Competition no later than August 15, 2016 in order to give each team ample time to research and prepare for the Competition.

Briefs: Participants will prepare written briefs, which must be postmarked using a traceable means by October 14, 2016.  In addition, each team shall also electronically submit 1 copy of its Measuring Brief to the Committee to be posted for purposes of preparing for oral arguments. An electronic copy of each Team’s brief will be posted on an electronic storage site that can be accessed by all Teams.

Oral Arguments: Participants will argue in two preliminary rounds (5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.) of oral argument on the evenings of November 10, 2016 and November 11, 2016. A third preliminary round will take place with 16 teams advancing to the Octo-Final round on November 11, 2016. Eight teams will advance to the Quarter Final round at 9:00 a.m. and four teams will advance to the Semi-Final round at 10:45 a.m. on November 12, 2016. The top two teams will then advance to the Final round at 12:30 p.m. on November 12, 2016.

Shawna Boothe, Jennifer Bitoy and Jeffrey Moskowitz, will serve as the Co-Chairs of the Moot Court Competition Committee. Please feel free to direct any questions regarding the Competition to

We hope you will include the CBA Moot Court Competition in your fall schedule.
We look forward to your participation!