Law at the Library


The Chicago Bar Association, the Chicago Public Library and the Evanston Public Library are offering a free, virtual information series to answer your legal questions and provide practical resources and insights into today’s most prevalent legal issues.

Each Law at the Library program features a presentation by an experienced attorney, followed by a brief question and answer session. All events are free, open to the public, and conducted via Zoom. Registration is required. To register or for additional information, visit the Chicago Public Library site or the Evanston Public Library site.

Upcoming Schedule:

Tuesday, September 27 at 6:00 p.m.
Family Law: Divorce and Parental Rights
 
Tuesday, October 25 at 6:00 p.m.
How To Find A Lawyer When You Can't Afford One 

Tuesday, November 29 at 6:00 p.m. 
Changes to the Tax Law: Know Before You File
 
Tuesday, January 24 at 6:00 p.m. 
Consumer Law:  Knowing Your Rights and Improving Your Credit 
 
Tuesday, February 28 at 6:00 p.m.
Real Estate Transactions: Tips on Buying and Selling a House

Tuesday, March 28 at 6:00 p.m.
Women’s Issues: A Legal Discussion

Tuesday, April 25 at 6:00 p.m.
How to Start a Business

Tuesday, May 23 at 6:00 p.m. 
Planning Ahead: Wills, Trusts, and Estate Planning

Tuesday, June 27 at 6:00 p.m.
LGBTQIA+ the Law 

Each Law at the Library program features a presentation by an experienced attorney, followed by a brief question and answer session. All events are free, open to the public and conducted via Zoom. Registration is required. To register or for additional information, visit https://bit.ly/3hnBG9I or https://evanston.libnet.info/events. For a referral to a CBA lawyer, visit www.lrs.chicagobar.org.
 

Past Materials:

Tuesday, October 26, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. — How To Find A Lawyer When You Can't Afford One. Program materials: download here.
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. — Changes to Tax Law: Know Before You File! Program materials: download here.
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. — Raise your score: Steps for cleaning up your credit: download here.
Tuesday, February 22, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. — Tips on Buying and Selling a House. Program materials: download here.
Tuesday, March 29, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. — Planning Ahead: Wills, Trusts, and Estate Planning. Program materials: download here